TOW Week 11: Delicious

March 30, 2010 at 3:48 pm (PRCA 3030, TOW "Topic of the Week")

Discuss how college students (especially those working in groups) could benefit from social bookmarks. Be sure to include a link to your Delicious bookmarks in your blog post.

For this week’s topic, I created an account on Delicious.com. You can find my bookmarks at:

http://delicious.com/jessicacameron19

Delicious is a social bookmarking service that allows you to tag, save, manage and share Web pages all in one place. With emphasis on the power of the community, Delicious greatly improves how people discover, remember and share on the Internet.

Delicious encourages users to organize and plan. Bookmarking sites, like Delicious can be used to bookmark those sites which you visit frequently or want to remember so that you can revisit at a later date. Along with the social aspect of Delicious, the site can also be used to assist with group work and projects.

Lets say for example that I am working with a group for a school project and I conducted some research. I want to save those sites which I will use as my sources so that I can double-check my reference page and re-visit those sites to conduct more research. Not only am I able to locate those once visited sites easily, I can also share my bookmarked pages with my group members so they are able to see my sources and findings on the web.

Tools like Delicious are becoming increasingly popular as social media and other aspects of the internet evolve. I only wish that I had known about social bookmarking sites like this one when I was working on group research projects throughout my time here at Georgia Southern University. Delicious certainly would have come in handy in the past 5 years, but I am thankful I now know the benefits as I am entering the professional world in just a few weeks. I can’t wait to share my knowledge with my younger sister who will soon have to work on her first group research project.

Leave a Reply

