PR Professional Interview

March 29, 2010 at 2:04 pm (Assignments, PR Connections, PRCA 3030, PRCA 3711)

I interviewed Scottie Brown Davis, a graduate of Georgia Southern University. Scottie is the marketing manager at Pineland Telelphone Cooperative in Metter, Georgia. Scottie and I were in the same sorority, Kappa Delta together. This interview was conducted over the phone.The questions I asked her and her responses are at the end of this post. I feel like I learned quite a bit from her and will definitely pay more attention to the things that she said she uses most.My Interview with Scottie did not necessarily make me form any more of an opinion on a career in public relations, but I do know that this the PR field is something I am still very interested in going into when I graduate in May. I would rather work at a somewhat larger company, not necessarily for such a small town communications company.

1. What is your current job and what does it entail?

I am the Marketing Manager at Pineland Telephone Cooperative in Metter, Georgia. Pineland Telephone is a telecommunications company that specializes in telephone, high-speed internet, and digital television services. I am in charge or all marketing, public relations and advertising for the company. This includes website maintenance, creating publications and manuals, and radio and newspaper advertisements. I am also in charge of creating ads for our local public service announcement channel, community involvement programs, and a bi-monthly newsletter.

2. Did you graduate with a degree in public relations? YES

3. What is one piece of advice you would give students majoring in PR?

The one peace of advance I would give is that every student should take the PR Publications class. Learning the Adobe Suite has given me the skills I need to advance my career,. I use the Adobe Suite programs everyday at work.

4. What have you learned the most in your career that you did not learn in college?

In College- most people get by with learning just what they need to. In the business, the more you know, the farther up you will move. LEARN!!!

5. What piece of information that you learned while in college have you used most in your career?

The one piece of information would defiantly been the skill knowledge I gained from the PR Publications class.

6. Tell me about a project you worked on that you are especially proud of.

I re-created, designed, and developed the new Pineland Telephone website.

7. What three tips would you offer someone just starting out in PR?

1. Realize that even if you think you know everything- you really don’t.

2. Pay attention to your surroundings, and if you get a chance to learn something- take advantage of it. You can never know too much!

3. Learn from your mistakes and grow from them!

8. How important is writing in your career? Somewhat

9. What has surprised you the most about working in PR?

Deadlines are the most important thing!

10. What do you wish you would have known before starting your career in PR?

Oh gosh- who knows J

11. How has PR changed since you entered the field?

I have only been in the field for two years, so not much.

12. Do you feel today’s students are prepared for the challenges of new PR? NA

13. What’s a typical week like? (If no week is typical, then what was last week like?)

Design weekly ad or promotion, update website and any pricing as needed, meeting with business associates and co-workers, deal with customer problems, meet deadlines, and then start back over.


15 Comments

  1. Cinnamon Cameron said,

    This sounds like an interesting interview, Jessica! It’s good to know that even small towns like Metter, Georgia need PRs!

  2. Mackenzie said,

    I really like what she said about learning in the classroom. I think it’s true of many students (including myself sometimes) that in some classes, especially ones you do not have any interest in, to just go by and learn what you need to know for the test and move on. It’s really great advice and serves as a better reminder to know that it is important to take in as much as possible. This is why I think opportunities like internships and shadowing of professionals are very important with learning. These opportunities give you hands on information that you can take with you in the “real world.” It’s awesome that a GSU graduate was able to interview with you & give you some great advice from what she has learned in her job coming from GSU.

  3. allykup123 said,

    I really enjoyed reading this post! First of all I want to say that I loved the way you color coded the questions and answers. This made it so much easier for me to follow along. I thought it was awesome how you went above and beyond the required number of questions, I really felt like I got a lot more out of reading this interview because you asked some really good introductory questions. The best part of this article was seeing that even in a small town like Metter, GA, public relations exists just about everywhere! You really don’t realize how much public relations really affects our everyday lives. Thanks for the great post, keep them coming!

  4. Comments for PR Practicum « My online diary said,

  5. kelseyeh said,

    I think that it’s great that Scottie was able to land a job two years out of Georgia Southern where she is already a manager of marketing. Even if it is a small company, it sounds like she is in charge of many day to day duties and has her hands full. It is interesting to me that she doesn’t write much, because these days I feel like that’s all I’m doing, writing news releases/press releases, PSA’s, etc. I suppose there are all different branches and areas of Public Relations and maybe hers does not do a lot of writing.
    I am also so impressed that she completely redesigned her company’s website. She must have taken many computer courses. That combined with her PR Publications class seems to have served her well.
    You were very smart to have interviewed someone you know personally who works in your desired field. You now know better if this is something you really want to do! I’m glad it worked out.

  6. PRCA 3030: Blog Comments « said,

    […] #11. PR Professional Interview by: Jessica Cameron April 17, 2010 […]

  7. Jeremy said,

    Wow good stuff. That’s nice to see one of your good friends doing well in PR. I especially like her emphasis on taking a good publications class. Also, the formatting of this post is very easy on the eyes. The green and black text contrast allows the reader to focus on the different voices. Including a picture of the interviewee was also a good touch. It made it that much more personal. My favorite quote of Scottie’s is “Realize that even if you think you know everything- you really don’t.” That seems to ring true in every phase of life.

  8. eroche1 said,

    I loved reading your interview with a PR professional. The only thing that scared me is that she really stressed taking the PR publication class. I have not taken this class so maybe it would be beneficial for me to go ahead and enroll myself into it this summer. It was nice to read that she doesn’t know what she would have wanted to know before entering the field. For her being a Georgia Southern graduate it seems like she was prepared for the business world and this gives me hope that I will too be prepared. Especially if I get into a publication class extremely soon!

  9. stephaniemedlin said,

    Hello! I enjoyed reading about your interview experience with Scottie. My favorite part is where she recommended for every PR student to take Pubs. I have not taken publications yet and I am really looking forward to it. I really enjoy creating advertisements, brochures and the creative aspects of business. I think design projects are a lot of fun and offer way more than plain text. I also liked the part about how she graduated GSU with a degree in PR and actually landed a PR position. A management position at that! How great! I hope we are all as fortunate. 🙂

  10. My Blog Comments « Stephaniemedlin's Blog said,

  11. Antonio said,

    It looks like you learned a lot from her. I hope you stay connected and use your network.

  12. Blog Comments « The Mind of a young man! said,

    […] #13 Antonio said, Antonio said, April 21, 2010 at 8:46 pm It looks like you learned a lot from her. I hope you stay connected and use your network. […]

  13. Jacqueline said,

    I enjoyed your post about the interview you conducted. As I commented on another blog where a student interviewed a Georgia Southern graduate, it was encouraging. I like to read about successful careers people with PR degrees from GSU have accomplished. I also was interested when you asked what advice she would give, and she mentioned “Take the PR Publications class”. I am taking this course next semester, so the advice has made me look forward to taking the course. I also liked the fact that she is a relatively new graduate. She hasn’t been out on her own that long and she has already had success. It gives me hope.

  14. kbixby1 said,

    Hi Jessica!
    I read your blog about the PR Professional Interview, and I did not know that Scottie Brown Davis graduated with a degree in public relations and is now working in the field of public relations. That is very interesting! It does not surprise me though; she is so sweet and outgoing! Also, I am glad to know that she is back at work after delivering her first baby. I liked the layout of your blog and how you highlighted what she said in green. It was perfect for interviewing a Kappa Delta and it made it easier to read! That was a great idea and it really set your blog apart from the other classmate’s blogs. Great Job Jess! 

  15. Comments « Bixby's Blog said,

    […] 6.  Jessica Cameron-PRCA 3711 PR Professional Interview […]

Leave a Reply

