TOW Week 5: Reaction to an Edelman paper

February 16, 2010 at 2:02 pm (PRCA 3030, TOW "Topic of the Week")

Below is my three-pronged reaction to Search Engine Visibility, and Edelman insights paper by Steve Rubel and others at Edelman Digital.

1. What I learned?

  • I did not realize how many search engines are really out there.
  • Search is the most dominant online activity. I guess this really doesn’t surprise me because most people now look to the internet to find answers to all their questions.
  • Enquiro says that 72.4% of people found what they were searching for on the first results page.
  • There are five steps to becoming more visible online: research, teamwork, planning, experimentation, and benevolence.

2. What surprised me?

  • Google recorded 7.23 billion searches in 2008…2 years late I’m sure the number is MUCH higher.
  • According to this article, the terms “search” and “Google” and are synonymous. I will admit I have used the phrase “Just Google it” meaning go to Google.com and type in what information you are trying to figure out or discover.
  • A site must earn Google’s trust in order to rank high in the list of search results.
  • Most sites are visited, not by personal bookmarks set up, but instead by search.
  • Companies are setting up Twitter accounts to address customer service issues. JetBlue’s Twitter representatives seem to work faster at responding than customer service.

3. What do I want to learn more about?

  • How Google determines which sites to trust and put higher up in the rank of search results.
  • I want to learn more about the way “clicks” or “visits” are recorded through Google.com or other search engines.

This article was extremely interesting and brought up ideas and points I had never thought about before. Research on search engine visibility is interesting to me and I hope to be able to read more about the ways search engines are keeping track of each site. Before this paper, I had never really given much thought on the importance of search engines. There is much more to search engines, such as Google.com, than just  being a tool someone uses to uncover some sort of unknown information.

Leave a Reply

