Practicum Blog Comments

February 8, 2010 at 2:56 pm (Blog comments, PRCA 3711)

I will be keeping track of all the comments I leave on other blogs throughout the semester. You can find them below.

1.  Kati Ann Wright, Body lanuage and nonverbal communication in job interviews

Your post was really intriguing. The examples of what certain body language cues mean are really interesting. I think I will be paying more attention to how I am acting to see if I am really feeling a certain way when I’m putting my hands on my hips or crossing my arms, etc. Really interesting.

The tips for improving body language were interesting too. I have never really thought about ways to improve the way I conduct myself as far as body language is concerned before. I will definitely be referring back to your post when it comes time for me to go to a job interview (SCARY!)

2. Lindsey Townson, Speaking Louder than Words: Body Language and Nonverbal Communication in Job Interviews

I play with my hair too. I twist it around my finger when I’m nervous or anxious about something. Not a good thing to do especially in a job interview. Maybe it is a good thing I cut my hair short right before I start the job search. I wonder what other nervous habits I might have that I haven’t noticed before?
We both used Careerbuilder.com for this blog post and I included the same fact that standing while on a phone interview increases alertness. This is pretty interesting and I guess true. I usually pace around and stand when I talk on the phone to anyone anyway.

3. Jeremy Watruba, What to wear to a PR Interview

Dressing for a more informal interview would almost make me more nervous than dressing for a formal interview. I think it is always better to overdress than to be under dressed. Although informal apparel would be more comfortable, I would be afraid I would be perceived as not-caring or something of the sort. I have not seen many articles on what to wear to an informal interview so this was interesting. I would like to discover more articles and opinions on the way an employer conducting a more informal interview would like to see interviewees dress.

4. Candice Halls, Tips for writing cover letters

Cover letters seem so easy to write when put into tips or ideas, but dang they are so much more difficult than that. I have sat down to write a couple for my internship applications but I feel as if I always wind up sounding mediocre and uninteresting. I wish there was an entire class on just cover letter and resume writing. I feel like sometimes we are just supposed to know how to do certain things like this. Does everyone feel as lost as I do? I sure hope I am not the only one who is this scared!

5. Marilyn Lintel, Benefits/Pitfalls of Social Media in the Job Search

I agree with your statement, “If you don’t want your parents to see it, don’t post it.” I feel as if a lot of students go off to college and go wild, posting all their pictures covering their wild nights in college on Facebook knowing that their parents would NEVER get a Facebook account and see those posted pictures. Now, not only is Facebook available to more than college students, but employers are also on Facebook or have employees/interns who are looking for information on prospective employees. If you would be embarrassed for your mom or dad to see the pictures or use of language posted, then maybe you should keep them in a private diary, not posted to the internet.

6. Micaela Carter, Kell on Earth

I have seen this television show, but had no idea Kell on Earth was about a public relations company. Now I am intrigued and will have to check it out. I have heard about employees getting fired because of the excessive information they shared to the public about a company or situation going on. If a company has a big top secret situation that they are dealing with or are trying to plan something, how can they hire somebody who shares everything happening within their workplace/company on a social networking site? I think although sites like Twitter can be very useful to companies, they can always be harmful and companies will now how to be very picky in who they hire according to how much they believe they can trust that person with the secrets within their company.

7. Haley Higgs, Will focus groups fade away due to social media?

Haley, you make a good point. I have never really thought about focus groups becoming extinct in our world of social media. Although we are used to the focus group that are held in the Veazy conference room or something of the sort, could focus groups become popular through Skype or video chat? With social media, focus groups could become a much bigger thing. I know sometimes it is difficult to get people to participate in focus groups, especially students. So social media might be a way to get a wider range of opinions and a better participation rate in focus groups. I personally like the idea of face-to-face focus groups better. Plus, focus groups typically have yummy snacks!

8. Allison Allmond, Social Media is a double-edged sword

Social media can be the greatest invention ever, as long as you use it properly and keep the content appropriate. When I first got my Facebook account, I never imagined the possibilities. Who knew Twitter and Facebook could help get your dream job or connect with people who would be able to help you out in your job or internship search?! People have to be so careful with what they are putting on their social media sites. You are constantly being watched and some of the posted content can be found through search engines even after they are deleted from the actual social media site. SCARY!!

9. Danielle Barrett, Body language & nonverbal communication in job interviews

I have always been told the same thing about my facial expressions. It makes me nervous going into an interview for either a job or internship because what if I make a bad expression that makes my interviewer think I have a bad attitude or a bad opinion about the company or something. Body language is so important, yet I feel like if I were to concentrate too hard on it during an interview I would not be focusing on the more important things, like my answers to questions. It’s so hard to be calm before an interview because you have no idea what is going to be thrown at you.

10. Meghan Beytagh, Shadow Project

First, congratulations on your internship. I’ve had the pleasure of meeting Jennifer Abshire. I think she would be a lot of fun to work for. This is a cool assignment. I’m not in senior seminar but I think this gives you a good idea on what to expect when you begin your internship or even a job. It also gives you the opportunity to connect with at least one person in the public relations field which can jump start your networking. Good luck with your internship this summer! I know you have to be as excited as I am to be graduating in just 3 weeks!!

11.Kristin Bixby, Cover letter and resume tips

I never really thought about a cover letter being like a mini advertisement of yourself but I guess that is a pretty accurate way of describing it. If an employer doesn’t like your cover letter, they are probably less likely to call you for an interview or even look at your resume. I always want to use a different font to make my resume and cover letter stand out but I have always heard some employers look down upon that because it may not look as professional. I just hate blending in with the rest of the world out there!

12. Micaela Carter, Career service workshop reaction: cover letters and resumes

This workshop was a very interesting and helpful one. I agree with your shock to hearing you shouldn’t limit yourself on your resume. I have made my font small and have almost no margin space and still had to cut several things I felt that were relevant and necessary. I’m glad this information stuck out to you too. I feel like after every seminar or conference I attend with tips on resume writing, I go back and edit mine. I am constantly changing things on my resume because everyone says different things about the proper way to organize or write it. So confusing!

13. Candice Hall, Learn from my mistake

Aw Candice, everyone makes mistakes. Although it’s disappointing now that your story did not get printed, you now know to check your e-mail frequently. I know you have a Blackberry, you should set up all your e-mail accounts so that your e-mails come straight to your Blackberry inbox. It has made my life so much easier and I never miss out on assignments or anything because I always get the e-mails to remind me. At least this was in your internship and you learned from the mistake instead of losing your job, which is what could possibly happen in some cases.

14. Sarah Kemp, Interview

Oh no pay sucks?! I’m just kidding. I like how she said she wish she had known it would be so hard finding a job. I feel like we have not been prepared for that at all. All my life I’ve been told you go to college, you apply for jobs, you graduate, and then you start work. I never realized searching for a job would be a full time job in itself. It’s scary out there and I think people are afraid to tell you that, but if we were more prepared for the tough job search, maybe we would be more prepared instead of thinking everything was so perfect and easy.

15. Stephanie Medlin, Career services event reaction blog

I enjoyed reading your blog Stephanie. Your cartoons and graphics you added in make it much more fun to read!! I have never participated in a mock interview, but now I am starting to think I should have taken more advantage of the Career Services at GSU. Mock interviews are probably very helpful to those who take advantage of them. I don’t know why I thought I would silly doing them but in the long room what does a little silliness matter if it helps you improve your interviewing skills. Not taking advantage of the Career Service department is one of the only regrets I have from my time here in college.

16. Lindsey Townson, Interview with a PR professional

Like Allison has said, I have always heard that you have to love what you do and really want to do the PR work because it’s life consuming. I think it has to be that way for most professions but especially PR because you have to work your way up and it could take a long time. I’m thankful that writing is a big part of what most PR professionals do since we have spent so much of our college career writing, whether its press releases, or research papers, I feel as if that all has prepared me. I really enjoyed ready this post. What a lucky thing you got to interview somebody who has had such an impact on the Georgia State athletics.

17. Jeremy Watruba,Viral video

Great video Jeremy. Who knew you could be such a fantastic actor! You should have joined PRSSA so you could have gone to San Diego with us last November. It was so much, although you would have been the only boy from Georgia Southern. There were plenty of guys at the conference though. The video is pretty funny. Since I am VP of PRSSA, we do have a lot more events in the Spring, than we do in the fall. We have Relay for Life and Scoop Night at Brusters. Brusters actually let us work inside taking orders and taking care of the drive through!

18.Jeremy Watruba, Career fair at the RAC

I hate that they tell you to apply online. Although, Maggie from University Directories said that they see who will really take the initiative to apply online and will call those students in for an interview. One of the main things I hate about our technological world now is the fact that applying for jobs is done completely online. I feel as if employers could see me face to face and see my personality; I have a much better chance than just throwing my resume and cover letter at them. But I agree with the frustration you have. I have been to career fairs and felt as if I just wasted an hour out of my time.

19. Kristen Kelly, Are you LinkedIN?

Kristen, I really enjoyed reading this post. Thanks to Barbara Nixon, I have known about the benefits of LinkedIn and been able to set up my account professionally and correctly. But I would the majority of students out there do not have a clue as to what LinkedIn even is. It is such a great tool for professionals of all types. I especially enjoy the recommendation aspect of the social networking website. It is like your own personal online resume that is available to anyone. When you type in my name and Public Relations it is one of the top 10 results that pop up.

20.Kristin Bixby, Career fair

Career fairs are so frustrating for public relations majors. I feel as if there are never any companies at the career fairs looking for us which is so frustrating. Although they school does provide more specific career fairs, I feel as if they hardly ever have communication arts career fairs. There was one this spring semester but I believe that is the only one I have heard of in the past two years. We need jobs too!!! This is a good post though Kristin and I thoroughly enjoyed reading this post along with many others. Your blog looks great!

21. Allison Allmond, Eagle expo career fair

The career fair at San Diego was hard to feel confident at since there were so many other public relations students there talking to the same companies that you were. Although Marilyn got her starring role on the Vampire Diaries at this event, she is one in a million. Kidding. But in all seriousness, I feel as if a lot of careers fairs are so competitive because there are so many of us talking and competing for the exact same jobs or positions. Maybe there will be even more opportunities for you since you are not graduating just yet. I hope there will be more for you than I was able to take advantage of.

22.Allison Allmond, Maybe it runs in the family

I really really enjoyed reading this post, especially since Uncle Bubba’s is one of my FAVORITE places to eat! I am even taking the family there after graduation in a couple of weeks. I think it is good that she shared that opportunities do not fall into your lap, that you have to be willing to work to be successful. I feel like a lot of students do not realize this because so many of us have had opportunities come knocking on our door and not the other way around. Great advice from your cousin!

23.Emily Roche, Social media friend or foe?

Social media helped me out so much when I was helping Lindsey Wood out with her homecoming campaign as I am sure it helped Fallon out. And it was my biggest way of sharing the word about War of the Wings the two years I was in charge. What a help it was when it rained the first year and we had to move the event to legends. In just  a couple hours the entire community was informed through Facebook that the event was still happening and that it had just moved locations. Thank you Facebook!

24. Emily Roche, Learning from interviewing others in the PR world

I feel as if our focus is spent on APA style writing so much on papers throughout college that we neglect the AP style writing that is most important for our career. Our PR writing and Journalism classes are usually taken at the beginning of the PR program and we do not get that much practice after those courses. I feel like we should be practicing press releases and works similar to improve our AP style so that our writing will be strong when we enter the workplace. Writing and journalism was several semesters ago…I’ve done a lot more different writing since then.

25.Emily Roche, Talking to friends on interning

Emily, I really enjoyed reading this post. The people I asked for advice about internships gave pretty much the same answers as your two people did. The biggest thing I think is to remember you are there to learn AND to work your butt off because this could potentially turn into a job. I am starting my internship in just a couple weeks and I plan on working my hardest while I am there. I am very excited yet nervous at the same time. I hope I am prepared to do everything that is asked of me!

Leave a Reply

