Chapter 14 notes

April 28, 2009 at 2:25 pm (Reading Notes)

I think that this chapter should be one of the first chapters we go over in class. Writing new releases really is one of the most important things to master when going into the public relations field.

I took the Intro to Journalism class in Spring 2008 and have been writing news releases since then. I feel confident when writing them now and I think that is an extremely important skill to master.

This chapter is focused on news releases, media alerts, and pitch letters. I find more problems with creating a pitch letter than I do anything. I feel the most pressure is on when writing a pitch letter because you are trying to grab the person’s attention and get them to become interested in your story’ event, etc.

This chapter also discusses media kits. Media kits are one thing I am excited about being able to have the opportunity to create. I love putting things together like that.
note: Notes are all taken from “Public Relations: Strategies and Tactics” (9th Edition)  Authors: Wilcox, Cameron

Leave a Reply

