48 Hours on Twitter

April 22, 2009 at 7:47 am (Assignments)

You can find me on twitter at www.twitter.com/jcam19.

This 48 hours was different than my first week on twitter because I was already somewhat familar with Twitter and how it works. I did not have to play around as much trying to figure out how to Tweet or post hashtags or @replys. And now that Twitter is becoming more and more popular throughout the country, I have more friends and family on there and enjoy reading more posts than I did the first week we were on Twitter.

Now what really suprises me about Twitter is how many more people I know offline have hopped on the Twitter Train and joined. Even mom has Twitter…probably mostly because I won’t let her have a Facebook. I was also suprised at how I actually wanted to check Twitter this time around and see what was going on with the people I am following. I also can get Braves scores right on my homepage and predictions for the NFL Draft…which I really enjoyed. So Twitter served as more than just a way of connecting this time around, but kept me from checking other sites or using the internet on my phone to check scores.I had tweets sent to my phone for about a day….that got old pretty fast. I’m not a person that likes a lot of extra junk coming into my phone and it kind of took the fun out of me getting home to my laptop and checking my Twitter account.

I tried seraching for public relations professionals and I would still like to figure out the most efficient way to search for a group of people, instead of a person by name.

Three professionals I followed during this time that were quite interesting to me were:

1. @cokerhyde she is in public relations in North Carolina and is an events coordinator. She posted several tweets about things she was having issues with, including loosing her cell phone which she felt was disasters because in her own words “I’m in public relations people how am I supposed to work with no cell phone.” I found her very interesting.

2. @mcherenson He is a member of Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) and since I am now the VP of PRSSA here at GSU, I really enjoyed following his tweets. He posted great links explaining what to do in a PR crisis and about the different places he was traveling to speak. I would like to try and get him to come speak at our PRSSA chapter.

3. I also followed PRSA. I’m not sure if htey would be considered a professional, but a professional has to be updating their tweets for them right? They posted tips for everything dealing with Public relations plus things that had nothing to do but might interest their followers.

At the beginning of the semester, I was sure that after May 8, I would close my Twitter account and never look back. Now, I’m not so sure that is still what I plan on doing. Twitter has grown on me. Thank you Professor Nixon.

2 Comments

  1. Jaylynne said,

    It’s great to see how Twitter became kind of like a one stop shop when it comes to information that you would have to search all over for.

  2. Blog Comments « Jaylynne’s Blog said,

    […] Jessica Cameron – 48 hours of Twitter […]

Leave a Reply

