Kappa Delta “War of the Wings”

April 7, 2009 at 12:25 pm (Personal)

This year was my second year in charge of my sorority, Kappa Delta’s, 26th annual “War of the Wings” philanthropy event. Last year, we were able to raise just over $12,000. And my goal this year was $14,000. When I created this goal I did not take into account the state the economy is in presently.

All proceeds from this event go to Prevent Child Abuse America, Inc. (PCAA). Eighty percent of the total proceedsstay here in Bulloch County for Prevent Child Abuse Bulloch County (PCABC). We present the check every year at PCABC’s annual “Picnic for Prevention”. They are always so greatful and make all the hardwork in the months leading up to the event completely worthwhile.

Last year we planned to host the event at the house. Well, I woke up that Thursday morning (the day of the event) and it was pouring…like raining cats and dogs! So in my dead panic at 8 a.m. that morning, we were lucky enough to get a hold of the owner of Legends aka Jacksons and he allowed us to hold the event at their place. I think it was more successful indoors. The band, Southbound, sounded better because they had an actual stage and a soundcrew. Also, we used the bar as the pickup for the wings and drinks and it was more organized than I could have ever imagined.

So when asked if I would be in charge of the 2009 “War of the Wings” for Kappa Delta yet again, I had to say yes. At first, my whole heart was into it but with some discouraging events occuring in the months leading up to the event, my heart slowly pulled itself out of the event. I had lost part of my passion for this event but had to stick through it and finish it out. It once again rained on the event but this year we had a backup plan, Rumrunners. It wasn’t as organized as at Legends but it was still a good turn out and a good event. We were able to raise just over $8,000. Not exactly our goal but pretty good considering not as many businesses or families could donate this year.

I hope whovever is in charge of the event has the passion I had for it the first year and I am sure they will do an excellent job.

1 Comment

  1. katiann4710 said,

    Jessica,
    I myself also put together some major fundraisers and events for our sorority while I was the philanthropy chair. It can take so much out of a college student to pull something like this off, but in the end it is so very worthwhile. I applaud you on taking on the postition two years in a row, and just because you didn’t raise your goal amount the second year doesn’t mean you can’t shoot for a great goal the next year and strive to reach it again. War of the Wings is an awesome event! I haven’t been able to make it these past couple of years, but did when I first got down to Statesboro. Keep up the good work, and just remember the experience is something you will take with you going into the world of pr.
    -Kati Ann

Leave a Reply

