My 1st Week Using Twitter

February 1, 2009 at 6:08 pm (Assignments)

When we were first told that we would be required to create a Twitter account for my Intro to Public Relations class and create at least 20 updates within a week I was quite annoyed. At the beginning I couldn’t imagine being able to update my Twitter 20 times in just 7 days or having 20 different things to say that weren’t completely off the wall or dumb. Where would I get all this time to do this? I was also thinking I have all these different communication portals now; Facebook, school e-mail, GeorgiaView, personal e-mail, ebay, and now Twitter!!!! How will I ever keep up!! But after the first couple days I finally got the hang of Twitter.

Twitter introduced me to several PR professionals and I was able to receive links to interesting news & sites that normally I may not have been aware of. I can see how Twitter has it’s benefits, especially to those people trying to get themselves out there and known in the world of PR. It has the ability to connnect you with people and create opportunities without all the distractions that sites such as Facebook have.

I will most likely continue using my Twitter, at least until the Spring semester is over. I like having the ability to connect with my classmates and Dr. Nixon without the hassle of going through e-mail.

1 Comment

  1. Barbara Nixon said,

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts about the One Week of Twitter experience. It’s good to hear that you’re understanding the power it may have in the life of a PR professional.

Leave a Reply

